Weekend Links – 5.21.2010

21 May

source

Happy Friday, everyone! Can you believe that another week has passed already? (I can’t…) Here are some reading materials to get your weekend started right! Or, depending on who you are, help you to pass the time at school or work until you can go home and relax…

◊ On Positively Present, How to be a kid again! Perfect for those who feel a little more…old at heart?

◊ YES to all of these! (Maybe this is why the website is called “Yes and Yes”…31 Things I Wish I’d Known About Dating When I was 21. One of my favorites:

19. Your wants and needs are just as important as his, and if you don’t express them because you think it will scare him away, then you’re saying you don’t count as much as he does.

◊ One of my favorite fashion photographers + one of my favorite clothing lines = tons and tons of pretty.

◊ This movie looks so adorable! People need to be making more African folktales into movies. (found at Fly) Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters, I’m talking about you.

◊ On White Hot Truth – how to handle Superhero Syndrome, or more specifically, when you have ridiculous, crazy ambition that is hard to sustain for long periods of time.

It’s the Super Hero syndrome: I can do it all! I can squeeze more hours out of the day; keep up my exercise regime, be romantically attentive; well groomed n’ stylin'; AND! launch a brilliant, brain-powered innovative, substantive product in record time. Nothing will change. I’ll just fit MORE in.

◊ I just think this is really cool: a Japanese label design that makes it extremely easy to tell how safe your food is.

◊ Now this is just nerdy, but I love it – explore the galaxy in a variety of wavelengths, from x-rays to the longest radio waves.

◊ Another cool craft idea! Duct Tape + Decal + Bleach = Awesome.

◊ Have you ever wanted to shop at an estate sale? I have. On Moptop Maven, a helpful guide on how to make the most out of any estate sale you happen upon.

◊ YES!! My requisite silly link of the week: the 20 Best Cartoons of the 90s. You know this is going to get ugly. I’m already mad Batman: The Animated Series is missing. (And Rugrats, too! What is this foolishness??)

Source

I absolutely love sushi, but I had no idea some of these things were a faux pas. Well, you learn something new every day, I suppose.

◊ Okay, scratch that, I have two silly links – on Improv Everywhere, they staged a mock Ghostbusting operation right in a New York library. Those people walking around in sheets acting like normal people – priceless.

◊ On Flickr, how to use light stencils to make a truly, shall we say, illuminating photo effect. Okay,  that one was bad. I admit it.

Jam of the Week

Alright, that’s all everyone! Do you have any links to share or interesting weekend plans? Leave them in the comments!

xoxo,

Tara

4 Responses to “Weekend Links – 5.21.2010”

  1. lumikha May 21, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    ack! i didn’t know that there was such a thing as sushi etiquette! good to know. thanks for sharing! :)

  2. dendoo May 27, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    I actually found that sushi etiquette in a magazine and ripped it out and put in my purse. I had always hoped on moving to Japan (which I will be doing this Summer) and knew it would come in handy one day! Doesn’t hurt to back it up on my computer though…cause I lost the page a looooong time ago!

    • Tara Melissa May 28, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      Oh wow, that’s cool that it was in a magazine. Do you happen to remember which one? (it kind of reminds me of Wired, but idk)

      Oh snap! You’re moving to Japan? Is this permanent or a temporary thing? You have to chronicle it because that sounds fantastic. And I’m glad you have the page again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

