Currently Jamming to – Theophilus London

30 Mar

source

Nuri posted a round-up of her favorite artists from 2010 early this year and she mentioned Theophilus London as someone to look out for. Considering this is the same lady who brought the phenomenal Esthero into my life, I gave him a chance. I certainly don’t regret it.

His most recent mixtape, “I Want You”, has him covering the songs of other artists such as Marvin Gaye and Stevie Wonder. While he hails from Brooklyn, the elements of the city he’s named for are seen in his music, which blends seamlessly with the classic soul beats and electronica influences. I’m not usually the type to listen to a CD from beginning to end, and definitely not more than once, but this mixtape is the exception. Last.fm lists similar artists as The Cool Kids, Jay Electronica, Wale (though I don’t really see that one), and Kidz in the Hall. If you’re a fan of any of those artists, definitely check him out.

His newest album, Lovers’ Holiday, is out now on iTunes and you can download his mixtapes for free. If you still want more, you can also check out his official website or his blog.

What are you currently listening to? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo, Tara

2 Responses to “Currently Jamming to – Theophilus London”

  1. nuri April 3, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    yes! isn’t he the best? he impresses me a little bit more with every new project, lovers’ holiday being no exception. but, i think this charming mixtape will remain my undisputed favorite.

    lol, did i really introduce you to esthero? my memory is so shot. i consider reccing one of my specialties, so i was more than happy to share.

    • Tara Melissa April 8, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Really? I think of his mixtapes, I Want You is definitely the best. Although I haven’t listened to This Charming Mixtape all the way through. I just purchased Lovers’ Holiday via amazon…it will be in permanent rotation. Flawless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

