Music Monday #1 – VV Brown

22 Feb

This fierce lady is none other than VV Brown, and if you don’t know, you better ask somebody. Because honestly – how can you not love her? She’s wearing spikes and dresses made of HAIR! She is one of my new favorite artists and I have played her album, Traveling Like the Light on repeat ever since I’ve gotten it.

Vanessa Brown (or, as most know her, VV Brown), is a British recording artists from Northampton, England. She describes her music as “musical mashed potatoes”, which, aside from sounding scrumptious, is oddly fitting.

Aside from being a fantastic musician, she also moonlights as a model (she’s 5’11!) as well as a fashion designer, and you can visit her at her clothing store VV Vintage. She has also ghostwritten many songs she has opted to remain quiet about, as well as developing a graphic novel with friend David Allain who directed and produced the video for the single “Crying Blood”.

VV writes and plays the music on her dΓ©but album, Traveling Like the Light which is just plain sick. According to her, the album is inspired by 1950s and electronic music as well as sounds emitted from Game Boy and Nintendo.

You can find out more about VV on her official site and you can purchase her album on Amazon or Itunes.

Is there any music you’ve been listening to nonstop?

xoxo, Tara

5 Responses to “Music Monday #1 – VV Brown”

  1. Anika February 22, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    I sooo didn’t know about her fashion designing but I do too love her music.

    Your link to her design site doesn’t work.

    I’ve been listening Tanya Stephens non-stop this morning, I love her.

    • Tara Melissa February 22, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

      I fixed the link, thanks!

      And I’m going to give Tanya Stephens a listen. Thanks for the rec!

  2. nuri February 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    “musical mashed potatoes.” love it!

    and graphic novels? my kind of person.

  3. Makeda V February 23, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    She’s fierce! And rly interesting, I’ll definitely stop by again and check out the rest of her stuff. I like all her songs here

    Ive been in an old-school Sould groove lately, Marvin Gaye, Chaka Khan and modern day inmitators like Duffy and Amy Winehouse… but a change in music could mean a change of mood, which would be good for me =]

    • Tara Melissa March 12, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

      Lol I don’t know what took me so long to comment but Chaka Khan is the best thing ever. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

