Music Monday – Girl Talk

5 Apr

The name Girl Talk is a reference to many things, products, magazines, books. It’s a pop culture phrase. The whole point of choosing the name early on was basically to just stir things up a little within the small scene I was operating from. I came from a more experimental background and there were some very overly serious, borderline academic type electronic musicians. I wanted to pick a name that they would be embarrassed to play with. You know Girl Talk sounded exactly the opposite of a man playing a laptop, so that’s what I chose.

The first time I had ever heard of Girl Talk was in an article in Wired sometime in 2008, where they presented a series of graphs that broke down the tons of samples he used in his music. I was fascinated. After moving to Pittsburgh to attend college in 2009, I found out he was a native there. I had a chance to explore his sound when they presented a movie, RiP! A Remix Manifesto, that he was featured in. (By the way, it’s a really great film and is worth a watch.)

In a few of my aerobics classes, my instructor put on Girl Talk and I was amazed at the way he seemed to flow so many tracks together to make a completely unique sound. I mean really, who thinks to mash-up Public Enemy and the Andrea True Connection? By the way, the man’s knowledge of music is nothing short of amazing. It’s like a Name that Tune game on every single one of his songs.

I had heard samples (ironically enough) of his sound, but I had never gotten a chance to really listen to it. You know what I mean? The difference between hearing the end half of a song on the radio and getting the chance to put on an artist’s CD and hear their work from start to finish.

So I decided to change that, and got my hands on two of his CDs, Night Ripper and Feed the Animals.

Let’s just say, “I was blown away” is an understatement. I have had these albums on repeat since I have gotten them. (When I finally get around to syncing my ipod, my last.fm will explode with Girl Talk, let me tell you) His music is the type you’ll jam to on the bus, during your workouts, while you clean your house… I’m just going to continue to let his music speak for itself. Listen and enjoy.

What are you listening to this Monday? Speak on it in the comments.

Xoxo,

Tara

4 Responses to “Music Monday – Girl Talk”

  1. nuri April 5, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    the seamless feed the animals (all the tracks as one long song) makes me sooooo happy. i have no idea how i found out about him, but it’s been at least 4 years. love everything he does.

    freekstyler is another great…mixer? masher? maker of awesome? whatever you want to call what they do, lol. freekstyler’s style is definitely different and his own, but the combination of large amounts of samples is the parallel.

    • Tara Melissa April 6, 2010 at 8:41 am #

      That’s awesome. I have never heard of them, so I’ll look into it – thanks!!

      (lol, I shouted out your epic music taste in my last MM)

  2. Zach Reisfeld April 7, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    I know I’m late but I’ve been listening to lots of Snow Patrol, namely “Make This Go On Forever”, “Set The Fire To The Third Bar”, and “Run”. 3 of the most beautiful songs ever. Also been listening to Bright Eyes’ song “Something Vague” and the new 30 Seconds To Mars album, which is fantastic!

    • Tara Melissa April 7, 2010 at 7:54 am #

      I have honestly never listened to either of them. Maybe this weekend I’ll give them a try. Thanks!

      ps – You’re never too late =)

Leave a Reply

