Slowed Down Sunday – 5.2.2010

2 May

source

How is everyone doing this Sunday? While I’m not sure of the climate in my usual location of Pittsburgh, it is a balmy 85 degrees here in Maryland! I know this is crazy late, but I have spent a ton of time hauling my stuff from Pittsburgh to Elkridge and unloading it in my parents’ house. Whew. Now that I’ve settled,

Here are the things I am thankful for this first Sunday in May:

Being back home! As the saying goes, “There’s no place like home”. Being home in Maryland has made me happier than I can possibly explain. Being in my house, in my bed, with my parents and my siblings and my boyfriend is a joyful experience. Plus, it doesn’t hurt that the weather is fantastic and I got to spend the entire day with my mother and my boyfriend – two of my favorite people in the world.

♥ Cuddly pets – I missed my dog! My beautiful, blond-haired babydoll (aka Desi). I also missed my cats (even though there is only one in that picture). Even my sad little toothless gummy kitty – he’s the one pictured, by the way. I’m also having a great time getting to know the boyfriend’s cat, who looks like Garfield with white paws. His name is Franklin and he is a dollface.

♥ Seafood – One thing that Maryland has in spades that Pittsburgh is kind of lacking is amazing seafood. I miss having crab that is not spelled “k-r-a-b” if you know what I mean. I can’t wait to go to a harbor-side market and have a great bowl of crab soup or some amazing sushi. Old Bay is mandatory, not optional. Salmon? You bet. Crabcakes? Yes ma’am.

♥ Misc: Sitting with the boyfriend as I update this blog; blueberry muffin pop-tarts; frosted oatmeal cookies with my grandmother; soft-serve with my mother; pineapple-chicken pizza with my dad (so much food, jeez); getting to reunite with my siblings; sleeping for 12.5 hours; spending time with good friends before they jet off to Las Vegas; sweetened ice tea; being told I looked fourteen; amazing croissants

What are you grateful for this Sunday? Let me know in the comments.

xoxo,
Tara

3 Responses to “Slowed Down Sunday – 5.2.2010”

  1. Nicole, POP Fizz May 3, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Seafood!! Yum! I’m originally from Philly, but have been living in England for the past few years and something that I always miss about the East Coast once it starts to move into spring and summertime is CRABS CRABS CRABS. God I love seafood! Haha!

    Thanks for stopping by POP Fizz and leaving a sweet comment. I’m sorry you didn’t win the giveaway from Freckled Nest, but registration is still open for the e-courses. I really hope you decide to join me for Bohemian Babe!

    xo Nicole

    • Tara Melissa May 3, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

      Crabs are what we Marylanders are known for!! I visited London once and while I enjoyed the cod, I’m not sure how I would feel about the crab.

      And I am going to try the e-course! I’m just worried I’ll be out of the country for some of it =(

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Slowed Down Sunday – 5.2.2010 « love, tara. -- Topsy.com - May 2, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tara Melissa. Tara Melissa said: Slowed Down Sunday – 5.2.2010: http://wp.me/pMF4s-5o […]

Leave a Reply

