Music Monday – Amanda Blank

3 May

This sounds sad, but…this will probably be the last Music Monday. Ever. But fear not! This blog isn’t going anywhere, and neither are my music features. I have decided to restructure my blog a bit, and will post my lengthier articles on Mondays (the ones that are usually on Wednesdays) and move these posts to Wednesdays. Also, instead of music, I’ll feature a wider variety of things, like art, photography, poetry and anything else that strikes my fancy – that way, this blog won’t be as restricted to one thing. Sounds good? Sounds awful? Let me know what you think of these changes in the comments!

Today in Music Monday we’re featuring one of my favorite new artists, Amanda Blank. Here’s more on Amanda, courtesy of her wikipedia page:

Blank, whose given name is Amanda Mallory McGrath, took her nom de rap from Jerri Blank, the character played by Amy Sedaris in the 1999 Comedy Central series “Strangers With Candy.”

Blank signed to Downtown Records in 2007.  She worked on her first solo album, with producers XXXChange of Spank Rock, Diplo, and Dave Sitek. The album “I Love You” was released on August 4, 2009, with her first single being “Might Like You Better”.

Speaking of Might Like You Better, you can watch it right here:

I love Amanda Blank because of her sound (her rapping kind of reminds me of Peaches, another artist I have nothing but love for) and attitude, as well as her clothing style. I am a big fan of the colorful female hip-hop of artists like Kid Sister and M.I.A. I’m also glad that there are more female emcees on the scene, especially since I’m not entirely positive about my opinion of the ones there are now – namely, Nicki Minaj.

She has a unique sound and I love her music videos. I hope she sticks around and we hear more from her in the future – she’s much better than a one-hit wonder.

More on Amanda:

She is a collaborator with the rapper Spank Rock, most notably on the track “Blow” off of the mix CD Bmore Gutter Music and later “Bump” off the album YoYoYoYoYo released in 2006. Furthermore, she appeared on Bmore Gutter Music, which was produced by Aaron LaCrate and Low Budget of Hollertronix. Her songs have appeared in HBO’s Life Support and the CSI: NY episode “Buzzkill”. In 2007, she was featured on the official Eli Escobar and Doug Grayson remix for Britney Spears’ hit single “Gimme More”. In early 2008, Blank was described as being part of “a new crop of young, multicultural, female hip-hop acts in the wake of M.I.A. causing a stir on the internet and in indie-label conference rooms.” She was recently featured on the song “Loose” on the Spank Rock and Benny Blanco are Bangers & Cash EP. It is reported that she is to make a guest appearance on Uffie’s forthcoming album in 2009.

Amanda can be found on her official website. You also can purchase Amanda’s CD on Amazon.com and wherever else music is sold.

What music are you listening to this Monday? Let me know in the comments.

xoxo,

Tara

3 Responses to “Music Monday – Amanda Blank”

  1. Anika May 3, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    My fave Amanda is Get It Now, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5HTTaa2Ovo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Music Monday – Amanda Blank « love, tara. -- Topsy.com - May 3, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by RootsRadio. RootsRadio said: Music Monday – Amanda Blank: http://wp.me/pMF4s-5t http://bit.ly/awApHp […]

Leave a Reply

