Music Video: Kelis – Acapella

12 May

If you want the full effect, I suggest viewing the video on the original Vevo page. They have it in full 1080p, so turn on high-definition and watch it in full-screen!

This video, quite simply, is the reason I decided to feature music videos on this blog instead of just artists themselves. (It certainly helps that it came out fairly recently.) As can be clearly seen, I love it. While the song took a little more time to grow on me (On the livejournal community Oh No They Didn’t, someone described it as having a “generic gay dance club beat” which I can grudgingly see), I have grown to enjoy it as well, although I prefer to listen to it accompanied with the video instead of on its own.

In Acapella (no idea why it’s spelled that way and not a capella), an ode to her son Knight, Kelis takes on a multitude of looks and finds herself in a variety of settings and I absolutely love them all. The video had me hooked throughout, except for maybe towards the end when she’s standing in the desert. I mean, really Kelis, you could have at least moved your arms!

The coloring in the beginning – monochrome with touches of pink and yellow – strikes you immediately, and it fits with the tribal beat. People have complained that Kelis seems to be aping the movie Avatar with both this scene and the one where she is lit with blue light with a crystal masquerade mask, but I don’t really see it. If that were the case, any artist using a “tribal” motif could also be accused of stealing from Avatar, when that movie certainly wasn’t the first to do it.

Even the segment of the video where she is painted gold and is singing among a pack of huskies (just watch) is visually appealing, when I originally expected to give it the side-eye. Where she got these ideas, I do not know.

One thing I do know is that this video has me really excited about her upcoming album, Fleshtone.

What did you think? Are there any music videos (or music in general) that have caught your eye lately? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo,

Tara

4 Responses to “Music Video: Kelis – Acapella”

  1. dendoo May 27, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Love, Love, LOVE Kelis. She’s so overlooked as an artist. Loved her from the first and will love her to the last. This new sound from her is delish but what I appreciate about Kelis is every album brings a new sound and it’s like every song on her albums are just new ventures down the colourful path that is her mind. She’s awesome. When I first heard this song I was def in awe. Genius.

    • Tara Melissa May 28, 2010 at 9:43 am #

      I love Kelis too! I feel like since people basically think of her as “That girl who sang the Milkshake song”, they overlook what a creative artist she is.

      And you’re right about the different sounds. Kaleidoscope sounds different from Tasty which sounded different from Kelis Was Here which sounds different from Flesh Tone.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Tina Benson May 31, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    Really interesting read! Honestly.

Leave a Reply

