Weekend Links – 5.14.2010

14 May

Sehzade Mosque (Istanbul) Turkey

source

Happy Friday, everyone! As I type this I am attempting to rush off to a picnic (my boyfriend’s impatient look attests to this) so this has to be quick, but here is some reading for you this weekend!

◊ Mosques are some of the most beautiful examples of architecture in the world. Noupe profiles some of the most beautiful mosques in the world. My boyfriend is going to get to visit the one listed above on his visit to Turkey later on this month. Can you tell I’m jealous?

◊ Maybe this is just me, but I absolutely love the title graphics of iconic movies. Are you like me? Check them out here!

◊ From Dirty Laundry Blog, a wonderful online magazine called Sweet Paul which features crafts and foods.

◊ I adooore this photography. ‘Nuff Said.

source

◊ Okay. Home decor? Check. Gorgeous? Check. PURPLE? Check check check. I must have this wallpaper in my life.

◊ I just finished reading The Audacity of Humanity and I suggest it to anyone – plus, it is free! Description:

The Audacity of Humanity features over 35 authors, ages 10 to 63, from 5 continents, multiple ethnicities, sexualities and belief systems with different abilities and limitations. We are ONE people, the human race, courageously up-ending stereotypes and generalizations.

The best thing you can do is share it. Read it and pass it on!

◊ A new book explores street artist Caledonia Curry’s floating installations and intricate paper cut-outs. You have to see some of these to believe them.

◊ I absolutely LOVE Wonder Woman. LOVE Wonder Woman. They’re releasing a collection based on her intense fabulousness. I love it.

◊ Are you a college student (like me?) Or a prospective college student? Do you wonder what majors tend to make the most money? Well here you go. Mine – surprisingly (well, surprisingly to me) is actually on there. That wasn’t on purpose.

◊ Ah, the endless debate: Smug Marrieds vs Swinging Singles. Do you wish you were in a relationship? Do you feel like being aiin a relationship stifles your creativity and drive? Are you content where you are? Don’t care less? Debate here!

◊ Now this is just awesome: A little natural hair history, courtesy of Afrobella.

◊ Gorgeous colors and fashion on Diasporique. (Although I must ask the question: When isn’t there beautiful colors and fashion on Diasporique?) Look at that woman’s hair and makeup!

◊ One of the most stressful and time-consuming parts of oil spill cleanup is cleaning the animals who were caught in the spill. Scientists have found a method that can cut down cleaning time from two hours to seven minutes.

My song of the moment: Wild Young Hearts by the Noisettes

Have a great weekend, everyone! Have you read something interesting? Have any cool plans to share? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo,

Tara

One Response to “Weekend Links – 5.14.2010”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Weekend Links – 5.14.2010 « xoxo, tara. -- Topsy.com - May 14, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tara Melissa. Tara Melissa said: Weekend Links – 5.14.2010: http://wp.me/pMF4s-5Z […]

Leave a Reply

