Music Video – Kelis: 4th of July (Fireworks)

16 Jun

The first music video from Kelis’ album Flesh Tone, Acapella, set a very high bar with costuming, artistry and overall “wow” factor. I was mesmerized from beginning to end and I fully expected her second video on this album for 4th of July (Fireworks) – which, coincidentally, is my second favorite song on Flesh Tone – to hit some sort of sophomore slump. There is no way, I reasoned, that this video could live up to Acapella.

While I am not as blown away this time around, I can certainly say it lives up to its predecessor. She revisits desert theme from Acapella, as well as the tribal motif that made use of ornate headdresses. As in Acapella, Kelis can also be found in a contemporary club scene, this time in a darkened hall with neon magenta strobe lights and a venue that eventually (spoiler alert!) goes up in flames.

Of course, the costuming is never lacking – with every scene change, Kelis is dressed in a notable, eye-grabbing outfit. Then again, I firmly believe that everything is better with sequins and glitter, so your mileage may vary.

Are there any music videos that you’ve been really into lately? Let me know in the comments.

xoxo, Tara

ps – If you like what you read here (and I hope you do!), don’t forget to nominate me for a Black Weblog Award. For more info, click here!

Leave a Reply

