Fashion Feature: NaKIMuli, inc

7 Jul

Have you ever heard of NaKIMuli, the fantastic clothing company by designer Tennille McMillan? Well, if you don’t know, you’re about to find out. Her fashion line has captivated me ever since I saw her distinctive holographic dress, an item that I am dying to have in my closet to this very day. The bright colors and African-inspired prints are to die for, and the creative construction makes every piece of clothing extremely different.

The Afrikan Hologram dress. From this moment, I was in love. You can clearly see her creative vision on her tumblr, where she sometimes posts personal pictures of her day-to-day life – it’s clear that her eye for outrageous fashion extends beyond the runway.

Can I just say that I really, really, REALLY want this cape (in purple, preferably) in my life? I already have the perfect belt. I also want to say that this comment that was posted on the page made me incredibly happy:

are you joking? this is fucking fabulous AMAZING and i want it, and i am almost upset that such a perfect cocoon exists and it is not mine, i want to live in that. holy poop! go to this website this lady’s clothes make me feel really happy about being brown and curvy and that is not normally how i feel when i am looking at clothes on the internet. love, shanay.

I feel like she expresses my thoughts exactly. I want a perfect cocoon, too!

From the brand’s official tumblr page:

Clothing, both the classical and the innovative, is fueled by imagination. naKIMuli aims to go beyond the traditions of women’s fashion and explore more of the imagination, what could be rather than what should be. The world we live in often dictates what we should wear and creates millions of it. We at naKIMuli want to create a fashion revolution: replace the cookie cutter model with one that embraces individuality, comfort, and fun. Become your own trendsetter. Dream. Explore. Dare.

All of these images are from the official Nakimuli tumblr, where I strongly suggest you go if you like what you see here.

What do you think? Are there any other brands setting the fashion world on fire? Let me know!

xoxo, Tara

Leave a Reply

