Dream a little Dream…

12 Jul

source

I firmly believe that dreams have a tendency to tell you things about yourself – it may be your mind’s way of processing things you weren’t consciously thinking about, or even a way of sending you a message you had never considered. I’ve come to many a personal epiphany based on particularly striking dreams. Then again, there are always those dreams that are just plain strange and those are pretty fun too. Those are the kinds I get the most often, and I really look forward to them. Or maybe, perhaps, my mind is trying to tell me something when I dream of being best friends with Spencer Pratt, who has suddenly become a glamorous drag queen who suspiciously resembles Tatianna from RuPaul’s Drag Race. (I think it’s that I read Oh No They Didn’t! too much, but I’m not positive.)

While I probably don’t remember most of my dreams, I’ve gotten a bit better at keeping them in my head. If you’ve never given it an attempt, it’s certainly worth a try. All you need is a notebook and a pencil!

Next time you go to sleep, have your notebook and your pencil in an easily accessible place, like on your nightstand next to your bed. If you wake up with the memories of a dream, quickly grab that notebook and start writing down as many details as possible, even if they’re in muddled order or can’t quite make sense. (I’ve come to realize that dream logic often doesn’t mesh well with real life logic.) Read them over later and see if you can make heads or tails of them. (That’s always fun.) When they’re written on a page (or typed, whichever you prefer), you’re less likely to forget about them as you go about your daily routine.

If you wake up without any memories of dreams, that’s alright too! Just stay patient. Maybe you’ll wake up with only small snippets, like, “I was a prolific Yorkshire Terrier breeder, but when I bred them, they were pastel colors. I don’t know why.” Another thing I’ve started to learn is that the more you write down your dreams, the more likely you are to remember them in the morning (and that this is a semi-deteriorating skill).

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ve personally had some strange dreams. Here are some that I’ve written down, for example (basically verbatim):

Basically, me and the boyfriend were Super Heroes. We were kind of like Iron Fist and Misty Knight. I ran into a woman who looked just like me so I freaked out, thinking it was my long-lost mother. (This was at a swanky house that some middle-aged suburban rich people might have.) I ran into a bathroom and freaked out with the boyfriend reassuring me.

They made a movie about us and I watched it with him and my parents.

He claimed he was man-pregnant with a hard-boiled egg, and then he ate it.

Yeah. That one was strange. I’ve also had an epic dream (that I wrote down but I can’t find) where the human race was enslaved by an alien race. After buying my freedom from a kind, elderly alien-dinosaur man through what can be described as a game of interstellar chess (using a game-winning move I had learned from my grandfather), I became an instrumental part of the human rebellion until I was finally able to find my siblings, who had found their way back to our childhood home, resigned to the idea that I was gone forever. I still think that one should become a movie.

Anyhow, you never know what kinds of fabulous adventures and fantastic revelations you may have unless you start remembering your dreams. And hey – you might get that dose of creative inspiration that you’ve been looking for.

Have you ever had a really memorable dream? Share it in the comments!

xoxo,

Tara

Leave a Reply

