Music Video: California Gurls by Katy Perry

14 Jul

This is seriously one of the cutest videos I’ve seen in a while. It combines many of my favorite things – Candyland, Snoop Dogg and pastel wigs. Cotton candy clouds and lavender hair? LOVE. If it had only included unicorns and mouse ears, I would have given it the title of video of the year, hands down. After I buy a lilac afro wig, of course.

I’m actually not a huge fan of the song – it begins to grate once it’s been stuck in your head for a few hours – but I had to get the video on my iPod. A perfect example of how my sister and I are completely different, once I told her how much I enjoyed it, her first reaction was: “I’m going to think it’s overdone, tacky and obnoxious, aren’t I?” Much like Times Square, Las Vegas and Disney’s Wonderful World of Color, she was proven right and we were at odds over our taste levels (or lack thereof) once again.

Her multicultural backup dancers are cute too, as are her various costumes and props. (Other than the girl wrapped in cellophane – that was a bit creepy.)

Here are a few more images I really liked from the video:

All photos from I ♥ Katy Perry on Tumblr.

What do you think about the video? Are there any you’ve been into lately? Let me know in the comments.

xoxo, Tara

2 Responses to “Music Video: California Gurls by Katy Perry”

  1. Josh July 14, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    dont forget her whipped cream boob-blasters. theyre pretty sweet

Leave a Reply

