Notes from the Universe

26 Jul

source

Greetings, everyone! I wanted to pass along a wonderful website that I found via the fanTASTIC blog, Medicinal Marzipan – which, if you need a self-love pick-me-up (and who doesn’t, sometimes??) is really worth a visit – called Notes from the Universe! (I thought a dramatic title deserved a dramatic text accent.)

What are the Notes from the Universe? It’s a daily (or however frequent you would like) blast of email affirmation that is sure to bring a smile to your face during the summer drag or winter doldrums – not that it goes out of style during any other part of the year, of course.

Here’s what the author, Mike Dooley, had to say about the notes:

“The Notes are designed to shed light on your own inner path: to spark your memory, attract like thinking, and awaken the slumbering deity within. They contain the truths I’ve come to know and live by about who we are, why we’re here, and the magic at our disposal. Everything I’ve discovered is neatly tucked between the paragraphs, and for the eager, earnest reader, far more meaning will be found therein than will first meet the eye.”

You can personalize it so it shoots some tailor-made goodness, as well. Here’s an example of a recent Note that I received:

With self-confidence, Tara, the world bows to greet you and coincidence becomes your partner.

And self-confidence comes from loving yourself.

And loving yourself comes from knowing that you are, still, exactly who I most want to be.

And so I am,
The Universe

How sweet is that?

I am a firm believer that self-manifestation is an extremely powerful tool. While bending the forces of time and space could be considered a stretch, having a fantastic attitude and a positive outlook towards life will go a surprisingly long way. While this goes for the attitude you’ll have when facing down tasks and mingling with others, I’ve found that shooting positivity out into the world can help you meet your goals as well! Whether or not it is a divine force switching events to work in my favor or just the fact that an added boost of confidence can make all the difference – and it works.

Here’s a personal example: A few months ago, I was up for a big interview. It was an interview by committee, so if I wasn’t nervous before, I certainly was then. A mentor of mine mock-interviewed me and even then I was so anxious that my knees were shaking and my hands became damp and clammy. I was a mess.

She (and some google-fu) gave me helpful, albeit obvious advice: Rather than considering what could go wrong and how under-prepared you are, consider how much could go right. Rather than lamenting the items that aren’t on your resumé, consider all the achievements that are. Instead of convincing yourself that you aren’t good enough, remind your inner detractor that you do, in fact, deserve what you’re aiming for. For extra ammunition, give evidence.

Afterwards, count your blessings. (Slowed Down Sundays, anyone?) Realize that it isn’t the end of the world – all they can say is no, and so what? There are other chances. If it doesn’t work out for you, remember all the good things that you have.

I walked into that interview with my head held high – I certainly worked hard to earn the right to interview but if I didn’t get the position, I’d survive. Things were going well enough for me that my general state of being wouldn’t be derailed and I could continue on, content and satisfied. I ended up getting the position – and I think going in calm, composed and positive deserves more than part of the credit.

Just for kicks, here’s another Note from the Universe:

In case you didn’t know, you couldn’t tell, or you haven’t heard, if you’re reading this right now on a computer, Tara, you’re rich. If you have somewhere to go today, you’re connected. And if there is anyone, anywhere, who for any reason knows where you are in this moment, you are loved.

Dang, you just keep acing time and space.

Big time,
The Universe

Amen to that.

xoxo,

Tara

Leave a Reply

