Music Video – VV Brown: Shark in the Water

26 Aug

When I found out that one of my favorite artists, VV Brown – who I’ve featured on this blog before in my first ever music feature – had released a new music video, I knew I had to post it here. This video was done in collaboration with Teen Nick and Degrassi (who here watched/watches Degrassi? Don’t be ashamed!)

As usual, VV Brown looks fly, fresh and fierce in this carnival motif (speaking of carnivals, I just mentioned the one I visited in my last Slowed Down Sunday post!)

Wikipedia says:

The song is a metaphorical record about anxiety, and was inspired by Brown’s experience with infidelity by a past boyfriend who liked to stalk her in his free time. The song is her first single to get high airplay on U.S. music channels and radio (neither “Leave!” or “Crying Blood” were able to achieve this). The song was also used as a promo for the summer run of the tenth season of Degrassi (previously titled Degrassi: The Next Generation).

Another random fact: The song was also re-recorded in the Simlish language of The Sims and is featured in The Sims 3: Ambitions. Huh. I can’t wait to hear that remake.

To keep the VV Brown-Degrassi connection going, here’s a bonus video of her covering “Best I Ever Had” by Drake, a Degrassi alum:

Are there any music videos that you’ve been enjoying lately? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo, Tara

3 Responses to “Music Video – VV Brown: Shark in the Water”

  1. Solange August 26, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    LOVE this song. It was playing all the time when I was in Paris a few months ago so I love it even more by association. Thanks for sharing!

    • Tara Melissa August 26, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

      I love it too! I’m glad VV is getting international recognition. Also: Paris? That sounds fantastic!

      Thanks for commenting =]

      • Solange August 26, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

        Most welcome! Yeah, I was there for a month doing an intensive French course and this song came on when I went for my runs along the river 🙂 Great memories!

Leave a Reply

