What’s Your Power Anthem?

22 Sep

MusiC

Is there a song that gets you energized? You know what I mean: the song that can make you drop everything and sing along when it comes on your MP3 player?

Is there a song that makes you feel like you can face the world and anything that can come your way? If so, darling, perhaps it’s your power song.

Having a song that truly inspires you can be incredible – there’s an immediate change in the atmosphere when you hear the opening notes and suddenly your entire mood can change for the better.  In my opinion, the power of music should never be underestimated.

One of my favorite songs like this is RuPaul’s “Supermodel”. This song came to me in a relatively dark period in my life. I felt really down about myself – like I was a terrible bore in a girl costume. I had decided that I had nothing notable to offer anybody because I wasn’t “particularly” anything – not particularly smart, funny, interesting, athletic or worthy of friendship. Of course, that’s total rubbish! Eventually I learned to quit doubting myself so much. And I say to all the other people who feel the same way: You’re a fabulous, radiant creature, and the greatest disservice you can do to the world is to keep it all to yourself. Share the love!

Maybe you don’t have a song of this type of your own – well, I’m here to help you!

Start by Mood:

There are songs that I love because they help put me in wildly different moods. While it might be hard to discover music based on the tone it sets, there are websites that make it a bit easier:

◊ Stereo Mood is a music radio website that has crowd-sourced stations sorted according to mood. While the basic ones like “happy” are represented, you can also find stations that are more specific, like “good karma” or “epic”. Give them a spin – you never know what you’ll find!

◊ Musicovery is one of my other favorites – similar to Stereo Mood, you can set the tone by clicking a point in a grid, pinpointing precisely what type of music you’re looking for.

◊ Pandora is another great resource – if you already know where to start, it can recommend music for you based on specific artists and songs that you’ve specified.

Are you still unsure where to start? Here are some more songs that make me, personally, feel particularly epic:

◊ Rock Star (Jason Nevins Remix) by N*E*R*D

◊ Covergirl by RuPaul

◊ Fighter by Christina Aguilera

◊ Rhythm Nation by Janet Jackson

◊ Free Your Mind by En Vogue

◊ Hat 2 The Back by TLC

◊ Aphrodite by Kylie Minogue

Jordan makes light music

But now what?

Maybe you’ve found a song that has a strong effect on you  – the tune gets your blood pumping, the lyrics speak to you in a direct and profound way, what do you do then? You’ve purchased it at your retailer of choice and it’s now sitting comfortably on the Music folder on your computer.

Don’t stop there!

Perhaps you could make the song your ringtone, so you can be frequently reminded of the message. Maybe you could write the best lyrics on your mirror or post them somewhere you can see it. Maybe you’ll keep the song in mind for one of “those days”, where nothing seems to be going the way you want. That’s okay too!

Currently, my bedroom mirror reads: “I’m fierce and feeling mighty, I’m a golden girl – I’m an Aphrodite”, quoted from the amazing Kylie Minogue. Don’t just listen to the lyrics – absorb them and live them.

Are there any songs that you think of as your power anthem? Share them in the comments!

xoxo,

Tara

ps:

Of course, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the song that gets me going every time, the song that makes me feel like I can conquer the world with my raw strength and power.

I’m so ready to get down to business and defeat the Huns. Just watch me.

Leave a Reply

