Weekend Links – 9.24.10

24 Sep

Grand Taxonomy of Rap Namesfull-size/source

I really want that poster on my wall. Anyway, happy Friday everybody! I’ve been all over the place these past few days (Retreat! Exam! Meetings! More Meetings!) but here are some links so you can have some satisfactory weekend reading:

◊ If you read any of my links, make it this one. There is a new Girl Effect video, depicting the pivotal role girls and women have in eliminating global poverty. Watch it. For posterity, watch the first one, too.

Takashi Murakami has an art exhibit in the Versailles! I wish I could go back to Paris just to see it…

I’ve never looked at stairwells with an artist’s eye, but Flickr managed to me how beautiful they can be.

I love the color stories the various seasons tell. On Design*Sponge, they show the transition from summer to fall in photography.

Read this. Love this. Learn this. 7 Tiny-Big Life Shifters on White Hot Truth. This one applies to me especially:

1. Let go of my “check-my-email-in-the-morning-guilt.” Screw it. I LIKE to check my email first thing in the morning. It doesn’t mean that I’m a distracted workaholic, it means I’m an excited Creative who loves her friends and new friends and what she does with her day…life >> this actually led to LESS email checking throughout the day >> more creative space >> deeper meditation >> clearer ideas.

I love this: a letter to Kimberly Henry, a plastic surgeon advertising in the diet section of a restaurant’s menu.

On a lighter note, this is just plain pretty: a navy and pink candy wedding spread!

Design*Sponge collaborated with Currency to bring a series of posts about smart spending for people interested in great design. You can view the entire series of posts here.

Can tea get any healthier? Turns out it can.

Jam of the Week – Kylie Minogue: Aphrodite

Read an interesting news story? Write a bomb-ass blog post? See an amazing music video? Link me up, baby.

xoxo, Tara

2 Responses to “Weekend Links – 9.24.10”

  1. honeypirate September 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Thanks for putting these together, I’m loving the poster a lot! Hope you’re having a great weekend =)

    • Tara Melissa September 26, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

      No problem! And I hope yours was fantastic as well!

Leave a Reply

