Slowed Down Sunday – 10.10.10

10 Oct

Hello everyone: I hope your past week was absolutely fantastic. While I usually take this time to discuss what I’m thankful for during the week, I’d like to modify it a little bit this time. I hope you don’t mind.

♥ My Dog, Desi:

I loved Desi from the minute I set eyes on her in the local Animal Shelter about six years ago. She was a Sharpei mix (German Shepard, maybe?) puppy found running around the local neighborhood, gone unclaimed. I reached out to pet her, she gnawed on my purse. In short order, we had taken her home.

It took her a little while to adjust to our household – especially to our two cats, Twist and Shout, who immediately disliked her energetic nature and loud barks – but eventually she settled into our family routine. In High School, letting her outside was the start to my day and it always ended with me shutting off the family room light with her curled up on the carpet, guarding the garage door, a silent sentry.

While we’ve had her times – her Houdini-like approach to our backyard was a regular headache, just like her picky eating habits (what a Princess!) – she was a beloved member of the family and the first one to greet me when I came back home from college.

This past Tuesday, my beloved dog Desiree was diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor. The very next day, her condition had deteriorated to the point where my family elected to have her put to sleep. The last thing they wanted was for our beloved dog to suffer.

I’ll always remember, love and miss her.

4 Responses to “Slowed Down Sunday – 10.10.10”

  1. Anika October 10, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    I am sooooo sorry!

    R.I.P. Desi

  2. nuri October 12, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    oh no, my condolences. this is a great tribute to her.

Comments are closed.

