Weekend Links – 10/15/10

15 Oct

Goodness gracious: Is it really Friday already? I feel like this week passed in a heartbeat! Anyhow, after taking a delicious cat-nap, here is the latest round of weekend links to get your weekend reading off to a good start: after all that hard work this week, hunkering down and reading something interesting seems like a relief, no? (It sure is to me.)

◊This is an amazing film about two amazing women, that I really hope to see in the near future. Not to get political, but Angela Davis and Yuri Kochiyama are powerful activists that should be better known. I’ll admit that I only have passing knowledge of Yuri Kochiyama, but I look forward to learning more about her.

◊  I have some interest in branding, so this stuck me as fascinating: What are the colors chosen to represent the most powerful brands in the world?

◊  Although some of the loftier travel plans I’ve made haven’t seemed to pan out, that isn’t stopping me completely – there are many places I’d like to see, so this guide to purchasing a round the world plane ticket (that kicks ass, no less) is quite intriguing.

◊  Are you reading Daily Pep Talk From a Best Friend yet? If you need a pick-me-up sometimes (and who doesn’t?) Give it a read.  One of my favorites:

Pep Talk: Aren’t you glad you don’t feel the need to shit on anybody’s parade today? There’s so much negativity out there but you aren’t adding to it or letting it steal your focus. You’ve got your own thing going on and it requires a lot of positive attention. Who has the time to hate on strangers? Not you, my friend. You’re too busy being awesome.

◊  Did you know your friends can affect your brain function? Well, now you do.

◊  I love this fashion shoot – the colors, patterns and mixed prints are just gorgeous. On a semi-related note, since we’re talking mixed prints, my boy Mondo Guerra needs to win Project Runway this season. Just putting that out there.

◊  This is a giant LOL – I love the entries on Not That Kind of Girl, but I think I love her post-it note illustrations even more…

◊  Have you ever felt plagued by your perfectionism? Here’s a quick guide on how to shed some of that weight.

◊  I’m not sure how many of you guys are fellow gamers, but this interested me: 9 Video Game Easter Eggs that Took Years to Find. Who knew you could play as the Master Hand in Super Smash Brothers Melee?

◊  Last but not least, here’s the source for the rest of the gorgeous photoshoot featured above. Love everything – the setting, colors, clothes …to die. Love.

Music of the Week – Sleepyhead by Passion Pit

Anything interesting to share? Let me have it in the comments.

xoxo, Tara

Leave a Reply

