Slowed Down [Superbowl] Sunday – 2/6/11

6 Feb

Okay, if that isn’t the cutest thing you’ve ever seen, you’re lying.

Here’s my ode to the things that made me smile this week!

The Superbowl – In case you didn’t know, today is SUPERBOWL SUNDAY! (Ahhhh!) While it’s disappointing that my hometown team (the Baltimore Ravens) didn’t make it to the big game this year – so close! –  I can’t be completely upset, because my current city of residence is representing this year. GO STEELERS!! If the game doesn’t go well, I have the Puppy Bowl and the game commercials to make me feel better. Now, if the University of Pittsburgh can somehow resist its natural urge to have a hugely destructive riot, this night will be just peachy.

Computer Issues – My computer has been through it! Through it! I had gotten a suspicious warning that my hard-drive was facing imminent failure. While my hard-drive was too corrupt to make an image of my computer (it couldn’t even run ChkDsk!) I was able to back up my files in the nick of time – the very next day, my computer was too damaged to even boot up. My friend was nice enough to lend me hers for the time being while my hard drive got replaced. Soon after that, my ethernet cable decided to die on me, leaving me internet-less for a little while. But it looks like I’m back! Knock on wood for me.

Getting Cultured – This weekend there were two different cultural festivals which were awesome – one put on the various Asian Student Associations on my campus, and one celebrating Vietnamese and Chinese New Year. I had a great time learning about different cultures and enjoying what makes every college student weep with joy – free food.

RuPaul’s Drag Race – I was going to put this under “Getting Cultured” – but RPDR is so fabulous that it deserves a bullet point all on its own. I absolutely adored season 1, season 2 was great but not as great, but season 3 is fantastic! The personalities on this season are amazing, and I already have some favorites – from Raja (America’s Next Top Model’s Sutan, if you’re into that) to Delta Work, to Manila Luzon to my GIRL, Phoenix. This is shaping up to be one hell of a season, and I will be faithfully watching it every Tuesday morning on LogoTV.com. So, if you’re an American viewer who doesn’t get Logo on their television, you have no excuse. Watch this. You won’t regret it.

Miscellaneous – Working on art projects that feature unicorns; Shameless on showtime; THE PUPPY BOWL!; getting my butt kicked in kickboxing; planning an amazing Valentine’s Day weekend with the boyfriend and the best friend (!); lunch dates with friends you haven’t seen in weeks; the fact that a movie called Cowboys and Aliens exists; coconut tea; planning a scary-exciting international trip; knowing that the Pittsburgh Panthers have picked up a player from my small hometown; Nutella; winning a raffle (I never win anything!); getting featured on a wonderful blog (more details later!)

Anything really make you happy this week? Speak your mind in the comments.

 

xoxo,

Tara

 

Leave a Reply

